Mission and Strategic Plan - McCord Stewart Museum

ABOUT THE MUSEUM

Mission and Strategic Plan

A landmark in the heart of Montreal for over 100 years, the McCord Stewart Museum bears witness to the history of Quebec’s metropolis as well as its influence in Canada and around the world, celebrating the vitality, creativity and diversity of the communities that make it up.

The Museum amplifies their voices by interpreting and disseminating the remarkable heritage under its custody: six expansive collections of 2.5 million images, objects, documents and works of art that make it one of North America’s leading museums.  

In keeping with its commitment to decolonization and sustainable development, it creates stimulating exhibitions and educational, cultural and community-engagement activities that look at the social history and contemporary issues affecting its audiences through a critical and inclusive lens, inspiring them to take action for a fairer society.

A MUSEUM THAT MIRRORS A CITY; A CITY THAT MIRRORS THE WORLD

Achievements and themes that propel Montreal onto the global stage. An openness to the world and to issues important to Montrealers.

AN INTELLIGENT MUSEUM THAT STIRS REFLECTION

A current take on today’s issues, achievements and topics.

CONTEMPORARY AND INTERACTIVE; IMMERSIVE EXPERIENCES

A museum that extends outside its own walls: to the streets, the schools and beyond.

Strategic Plan for 2022-2027

Audiences’ needs have changed. They want their museum to better reflect their current social concerns and to present their stories in an inclusive and critical manner through its collections and programs. Visitors expect a museum that is participatory, audience-centred and environmentally sustainable, and that fosters dialogue and exchange.

It became clear that to remain relevant the Museum must take account of changes occurring in society, which increasingly emphasize the importance of acknowledging the consequences of colonialism and of participating actively in the reconciliation process with First Peoples. There is also a need to amplify the voices of marginalized communities and to play an active role in protection of the environment.

Based on these observations, this five-year strategic plan was developed.

This plan outlines the mission that the McCord Stewart Museum team is committed to, with the conviction that it will meet the aspirations of a diverse audience and contribute to a greater engagement towards social justice.

Read the 2022-2027 Strategic Plan (PDF)

Not to be missed!

Not to be missed!

Mission et plan stratégique - Musée McCord Stewart

À propos du musée

Mission et plan stratégique

Ancré à Montréal depuis plus de 100 ans, le Musée McCord Stewart témoigne de l’histoire de la ville, métropole du Québec, de son rayonnement au Canada et dans le monde, ainsi que de la vitalité, de la créativité et de la diversité des individus et des communautés qui la composent.

Il amplifie leurs voix par l’interprétation et la diffusion du remarquable patrimoine dont il est le gardien, soit six collections riches de 2,5 millions d’images, d’objets, de documents et d’œuvres d’art qui le positionnent comme l’un des musées de référence en Amérique du Nord.

Engagé dans une démarche de décolonisation et dans la mise en œuvre de pratiques muséales durables, il conçoit des expositions et des activités éducatives, culturelles et citoyennes stimulantes qui portent un regard critique et inclusif sur l’histoire sociale et les enjeux contemporains qui touchent ses publics, les incitant à l’action pour une société plus juste.

UN MUSÉE MIROIR D’UNE VILLE OUVERTE SUR LE MONDE

Des réalisations et des sujets qui projettent Montréal sur la scène internationale. Un regard ouvert sur le monde et sur des questions qui interpellent les Montréalais et les Montréalaises.

UN MUSÉE INTELLIGENT, QUI FAIT RÉFLÉCHIR

Un regard actuel sur les enjeux de société, les réalisations et les thèmes actuels.

UNE APPROCHE CONTEMPORAINE, INTERACTIVE, IMMERSIVE

Contemporain et interactif; des expériences immersives. Le Musée hors du musée : dans les rues, les établissements d’enseignement et des lieux inusités.

Plan stratégique 2022-2027

Les besoins des publics ont évolué. Ils désirent que leur musée reflète davantage leurs préoccupations sociales actuelles, et qu’il témoigne de leurs histoires de manière inclusive et critique à travers ses collections et ses programmes. Les visiteuses et visiteurs veulent un musée participatif, citoyen et écoresponsable qui favorise le dialogue et les échanges.

Pour demeurer pertinent, il est apparu évident que le Musée devait tenir compte des mutations de notre société, qui mettent de plus en plus de l’avant l’importance de reconnaître les conséquences du colonialisme et de participer activement au processus de réconciliation avec les premiers peuples. À cela s’ajoute le besoin d’amplifier la voix des communautés marginalisées et de contribuer activement à la protection de l’environnement.

C’est à partir de ces constats que le plan stratégique quinquennal a été développé pour 2022-2027.

C’est la mission que l’équipe du Musée McCord Stewart se donne, convaincue de répondre ainsi aux attentes d’un large public et contribuer à un engagement accru envers la justice sociale.

Consulter le plan stratégique 2022-2027 (PDF)

À ne pas manquer

À ne pas manquer